Monday, June 24, 2019



Brigg and Barnetby figured prominently in end-of-season local football awards, achieving a notable hat-trick of honours.
The EC Surfacing Scunthorpe & District Football League, which operates on Saturdays, presented awards at its recent annual general meeting.
Briggensians, who played home games at Brigg Recreation Ground and Brigg Town's Hawthorns, won the team sportsmanship award, while the club's player/official Craig Benson collected the coveted R. A. (Bob) Bedford Trophy for his efforts during the 2018/19 season.
Barnetby United Reserves' Kyle Sylvester was honoured as the league's top goalscorer.
These pictures come courtesy of the league, which is sponsored by Brigg company EC Surfacing.
Trophies were presented by league president Ray Hewson.
The other winners were: player of the year, Lee Hutchinson, College Wanderers; referee of the year, Jeremy Hyke; secretary of the year, Robert Grocock, A.F.C. Queensway.

PICTURED: Above, Craig Benson receiving the team sportsmanship award for Briggensians; immediately below, Ray Hewson presenting Craig with the Bob Bedford Shield; below that, Barnetby's Kyle Sylvester receiving the league goalscoring trophy. 


No comments: