Saturday, August 01, 2020


Councillor Carl Sherwood, who lives in Brigg, has been given a new role in the cabinet at North Lincolnshire Council.
The former Brigg Town Mayor has been a member of the cabinet for some years.
His new post is cabinet member for safer, stronger communities (rural).
This covers all towns, villages and hamlets other than Scunthorpe, Ashby and Bottesford.
Other cabinet responsibilities have also been redesignated by the council.
Coun Carl's Brigg & Wolds Ward colleague, Coun Rob Waltham, as Leader of the unitary authority, said: “We have taken this opportunity to re-evaluate how we do things as a council to provide the best outcomes for the people and place of North Lincolnshire.
“Record Government investment is being made into North Lincolnshire and we are keen to make sure that residents see the difference.
“The new cabinet team structure helps us redefine what we do within our existing our priorities. We are focused on the economy, health and the environment. Scunthorpe is our county town and having a specific cabinet focus on it will enable the town to unleash its full potential.
“Keeping the economy going and identifying growth opportunities is key for North Lincolnshire. We have many significant projects ongoing and in the pipeline which will open up further development opportunities, including installing a roundabout on the M181 which will be a gateway for new housing and business.
“Keeping people safe and well, enabling communities to flourish and growing the economy are at the heart of everything we do.”
Coun Neil Poole, whose Ridge Ward includes Hibaldstow and Scawby, is the cabinet member for commercial.
The council says: "Specific delegated powers have been given to each of the cabinet members who will make decisions within their areas of responsibility. This will be done following legal requirements to ensure decisions are open and transparent."
In addition to being Leader, Coun Waltham has cabinet responsibility for place shaping and connectivity "and will lead the way on enabling economic recovery and growth following the Covid-19 outbreak."
The other cabinet councillors, with areas of responsibility, are:
Elaine Marper, finance and governance
David Rose, environment and strategic planning
Julie Reed, children and families
Deputy Leader Richard Hannigan, adults and health
Ralph Ogg, resident engagement and rural partnerships
John Davison, safer, stronger communities – urban (Ashby, Bottesford and Scunthorpe).
Pictured above: Coun Carl Sherwood in September 2019 during a public consultation session held at Brigg Buttercross. He is also a member of Brigg Town Council and was elected Town Mayor for 2015/16 (below).