Monday, November 25, 2019


Pupils from Sir John Nelthorpe School, Brigg, were successful in a poetry-writing competition, being congratulated by Coun Rob Waltham, the Leader of North Lincolnshire Council. Book tokens were received to use at Brigg's Rabbit Hole bookshop, in the Market Place.


Following North Lincolnshire Pride celebrations in July, pupils across North Lincolnshire were invited to write poems as part of a ‘Poems for Pride’ competition.
Children and young people were asked to write a poem on the theme of ‘what being unique means to me’.
Over 80 poems were submitted from schools across North Lincolnshire as part of the competition, from children aged between seven and 16.
The competition winners and runners-up in the Poems for Pride competition were invited to an award ceremony at 20-21 Visual Arts Centre on Monday 11 November 2019.
The winners are:
Best Poem (Primary): ‘I Am Me’ by Mathilda O’Sullivan from Winteringham Primary School; Runners-up: ‘What Unique Means to Me’ by Ruby Sanderson from Bottesford Junior School; ‘Dream Your Dream’ by Jay Herbert from Winteringham Primary School
Best Poem (Secondary): ‘What Unique Means to Me’ by Anneka Watson from Sir John Nelthorpe School; Runners-up: ‘Being Unique’ by Tia-Mae Topps, Grace Winning and Amy Belt from Sir John Nelthorpe School; ‘Pride’ by Laura Bradley from Sir John Nelthorpe School
Judges’ Choice Award: ‘Everybody is Different’ by Samone Pyke from St Hugh’s School
Each of the winners received a book token for The Rabbit Hole bookshop in Brigg, and a certificate.
Cllr Rob Waltham, Leader of North Lincolnshire Council, awarded the prizes to the winners at the ceremony.
He said: “The ‘Poems for Pride’ that were shared with us represented a diverse range of thoughts and experiences about Pride and being yourself. It’s clear from their poetry that in schools across North Lincolnshire, children and young people celebrate their differences and what makes them unique.
“Congratulations to the winners of the Poems for Pride competition. It was extremely difficult to choose between the poems submitted for the competition, so congratulations too, to every one of our pupils who put their ideas on paper for this competition.”
PICTURED: The winning poets with Cllr Rob Waltham, left, the Leader of North Lincolnshire Council; Cllr Jonathan Evison, the Mayor of North Lincolnshire (rear of the group); and Cllr Richard Hannigan, right, the Deputy Leader of North Lincolnshire Council, at the award ceremony at the 20-21 Visual Arts Centre in Scunthorpe. Picture courtesy of North Lincolnshire Council.

No comments: