Friday, January 13, 2017



The deadline in drawing near to make your Brigg nominations for the town's top annual community award.
Brigg people and organisations can put people forward for the coveted Joseph J Magrath OBE Award for Public Voluntary Service.
Joe was Brigg Town Clerk in the late 1970s and early 1980s. For some decades prior to the formation of Brigg Town Council, he had been the chief officer of Brigg Urban District Council.
If you want to make a nomination, call at the Town Council Office, in the Angel Suite, and collect a form. Or download one to complete from
Nominations will close on Thursday, January 19.
Once Brigg Town Council has considered all nominations, the winner will be announced and invited to attend a civic function in the spring to receive the trophy.
This prestigous award is usually made  to an individual, but there have been exceptions.
Last March it was presented to a group - click here to see why it went to  Brigg and District Committee of Macmillan Cancer Support.
The previous year the award went to Mike and Heather Johnson, of Brigg District Lions.
The 2013 winner was Fiona Reid, for her work in the Guiding movement and with Brigg  District Lions.
Antony Darker, of Brigg LIVES First Responders, won in 2012.
Jim Allcroft took the trophy in 2011 "in recognition of his dedication and commitment in serving the needs of senior citizens of Brigg, as well as those who are less able than others."
The previous year's winner was Vanessa McErlain-Naylor for her leadership of Brigg Netball Club, which earned national acclaim.
The award goes back further than that but we've only highlighted winners from the time Brigg Blog has been on the go.


Ken Harrison said...

Andrew 'Sass' Markham + Zoe Hall.....tireless and unselfish ambassadors for the local Pancreatic Action Cancer appeal....

Paul said...

Chris Darlington